Return to Contents
Shortcut Key Summary
In many AltME windows the following shortcut keys are allowed:
| ||ESCAPE||close an information or requestor window.
| ||CTRL-N||create a new item.
| ||CTRL-S||save or send an item.
In the AltME main window:
| ||CTRL-Q||will immediately quit the AltME program.
When editing text fields and areas, these keys are available:
| ||CTRL-A||select all text in a field or area.
| ||CTRL-C||copy selected text to the clipboard, and if there is no
selection, copy the entire text field to the clipboard.
| ||CTRL-T||clear text from cursor to its end (think T for terminate).
| ||CTRL-V||past clipboard text into the current text area.
| ||CTRL-X||cut and copy selected text to clipboard, and if there
is no selection, cut and copy the entire text to the clipboard.
| ||CTRL-BACKSPACE||delete back a word.
| ||CTRL-FORWARD-ARROW||move forward a word.
| ||CTRL-BACK-ARROW||move back a word.
Directories and Files
AltME uses the following directories and files in the installation
These files are only used by AltME and they are essential to the
proper operation of AltME. Modifying any of these files could
lead to the improper operation or total failure of AltME.
If the files are in the Worlds Directory (worlds that you have
visited), you can generally delete any and all of the files and
directories, and AltME will replace them automatically the next
time you visit that world.
However, if the files are in the Servers directory (worlds that
you have created), modifying or deleting the files or
directories will destroy those worlds, or at least
cause them to malfunction in a big way. Do so only if you no
longer want to use those worlds.
Note that destroying a world by deleting its files does not
delete the files from the computers of people who have visited
that world, nor does it free your world name for others to use.
If you paid to keep your world name safe, then you don't need to
run your world in order to keep your name (until it expires at
| ||Prefs||Files related to your preference settings for all worlds.
| ||Servers||A group of folders, one for each world that you started.
| ||Worlds||A group of folders, one per each world that you have
| ||Versions||Older versions of AltME that were downloaded. You can
delete these files at any time.
In addition, each world will also include these directories:
| ||Chat||Holds files related to chat messages from users and groups.
| ||Lists||Holds files related to checklists.
| ||config.txt||AltME configuration settings. You are allowed to edit
this file. But, if you make an error, AltME may overwrite the file
with a correct version.
| ||log.txt||A log file that can be used for monitoring and
debugging. You may delete this file whenever you want. Note that
this file can get very large very quickly, depending on logging
options. If you view the file, and it is larger than 10 MB, it
is recommended that you use an editor that is better than
| ||registry.*||Stores important synchronization information.
Do not modify these files, or your AltME may fail to work
| ||state||Stores important AltME state information. Do not try to
modify this file.
| ||users.*||Stores user information. Do not modify these
files, or your AltME may fail to work correctly.
SafeWorlds reserves the right to modify the format of these files
with future updates to AltME.